In Michigan, a patient with a debilitating disease whose doctor recommends marihuana may use medical marihuana with the proper state-issued ID. A patient may elect to have a primary caregiver assist them in growing and using marihuana.
As a patient with the proper registry identification card, you may have up to 2.5 ounces of usable marihuana. If you do not have a primary caregiver who will cultivate marihuana for you, you may keep up to 12 plants in an enclosed, locked facility. Primary caregivers may have up to 2.5 ounces and 12 plants for each patient they care for. You may possess pipes, vaporizers, and growing equipment. With respect to marihuana-infused products, the following shall be equivalent to possessing 1 ounce of usable marihuana for purposes of the law: (i) 16 ounces of marihuana infused product if in a solid form, (ii) 7 grams of marihuana infused product if in a gaseous form, or (iii) 36 fluid ounces of marihuana infused product if in a liquid form.
amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig’s disease)
nail patella (NPS or Turner-Kiser syndrome)
cachexia or wasting syndrome
severe and chronic pain
seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis.
any other medical condition approved later on by rulemaking
post traumatic stress syndrome as added via rulemaking on March 14, 2014
After your licensed doctor recommends medical marihuana, you must complete an application and send it to the Michigan Department of Community Health. You must pay an application fee of $100, unless you are currently enrolled in Medicaid or receiving SSI or SSD, then you must pay $25. Application and instructions can be found here for adults, and here for minors.
Any Doctor of Medicine (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) licensed in Michigan can recommend a patient for the Michigan marihuana program. Your doctor must sign a written statement saying that in your doctor’s professional opinion you are likely to receive therapeutic benefit from the medical use of marihuana to treat or alleviate your debilitating medical condition or symptoms associated with the condition This written recommendation must be submitted to the Michigan Department of Community Health with your application and fee.
Primary caregivers may cultivate marihuana for qualifying patients and patients may grow medicine for themselves. A person can be a caregiver for up to five patients. Caregivers can also receive compensation for the costs of their services. A caregiver should be sure not to cultivate more than the law allows.
Do not medicate on school grounds, in a school bus, or while driving or operating heavy machinery.
The state maintains a confidential list of the people who have been issued ID cards. Individual names and other identifying information on the list are confidential.
Nothing in Michigan’s medical marihuana law specifically addresses whether or not you can be evicted due to your status as a medical marihuana patient, even if you have only the amount of medical marihuana allowed by law. Also, the Act does not address whether or not a person can be a medical marihuana patient and live in subsidized housing. If you have questions about these important issues, Americans for Safe Access recommends you talk to an attorney to learn about your rights and protections.
The law prohibits disciplinary action by a business or occupational or professional licensing board based solely on a person’s status as a medical marihuana patient. The law does not require an employer to accommodate your use of marihuana in the workplace.
A patient shall not be denied custody or visitation of a minor for using medical marihuana, unless the patient’s behavior is such that it creates an unreasonable danger to the minor.
Visiting Qualified Patients
Visiting qualifying patients, or patients from other states with an equivalent state-issued marihuana ID card, are protected by Michigan’s medical marihuana laws.